Vinyl Finds! The Journeymen- New Directions in Folk Music (1963)

Dollar bins at vinyl shops are the best! This particular album came from Freakbeat Records in Sherman Oaks, CA. I like to dig through their 10+ crates of used vinyl because you never know what you’re going to find. I generally try not to look for stuff I already know, but that doesn’t stop me from buying it cause its 99 cents. I have never heard of The Journeymen but I loved the cover of this album. “New Directions in Folk Music” turned out to be a fantastic album; my favorite for that days vinyl haul. I did some research and the album came out in 1963 and was the 3rd EP from the band. I’m not sure how many of the tracks were their original compositions since there are some covers on there. Anyways, the album title is pretty accurate because it is a new direction of Folk music with some pop, blues, and world music influences. My favorite track was “Stackolee” which opens the A side of the album. You can listen to snippets on AllMusic. Fans of 60’s pop would enjoy this album, in addition to folk fans. A+ vinyl find!

One thought on “Vinyl Finds! The Journeymen- New Directions in Folk Music (1963)

Leave a Reply

